The University of Iowa

Alliant Energy Award

Deans, Directors and Departmental Executive Officers
Georgina Dodge, Chief Diversity Officer and Associate Vice President
October 7, 2013
Alliant Energy Award

The Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis, Jr. Achievement Award was created to honor Erroll B. Davis, Jr. and his nearly 30 years of service to the utility industry and to honor and recognize the importance of scholarship and leadership by underrepresented minority students in the state of Iowa. The award recognizes academic achievement in business or engineering, leadership in campus and community organizations, and potential for future career success.

Students at each of the three Iowa Regents’ Universities—The University of Iowa, The University of Northern Iowa and Iowa State University—are eligible for this award. Each undergraduate student selected to receive an award will receive a scholarship of up to $5,000. Scholarships will be granted to the recipients in accordance with the standard requirements set forth by the Office of Student Financial Aid at their applicable Regent Institution. Students receiving financial aid may see adjustments to their final scholarship amount. Scholarship amounts may vary from year to year based on the performance of the endowment fund.

To be considered for an Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis, Jr. Achievement Award, the nominee must currently be enrolled as an undergraduate at an eligible institution and be scheduled to receive a degree within the 2014-15 academic year or 2015 summer term; be a student pursuing a degree in the colleges of business or engineering; be a member of one of the following underrepresented groups: African American, Hispanic or Latino, American Indian, Asian, Pacific Islander, or East Indian, or from a racial or ethnic group traditionally underrepresented in the fields of business or engineering; be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien; and submit two letters of recommendation from faculty members or advisors from a Regents’ university. Applications are due by December 23, 2013.

Additional details and a link to the electronic application are available at:

For additional information, contact Lindsay Jarratt at