The University of Iowa

Associate Provost for Faculty

Faculty and Staff Colleagues:

I am pleased to announce that Kevin Kregel, professor and chair of the Department of Health & Human Physiology in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, has agreed to serve as the university's new associate provost for faculty, effective September 15, 2014.  He will step into the position vacated by Tom Rice, who is taking on a new role as faculty director of the University of Iowa's John and Mary Pappajohn Educational Center in Des Moines.

As associate provost for faculty, Kevin will work with me and the collegiate deans on the development, implementation, and administration of faculty-related policies and procedures.  He will oversee the annual review of probationary and clinical track faculty members, advise me on promotion and tenure decisions, provide management and direction to the Cluster Hire Initiative, and coordinate a broad range of other faculty-related activities at the University of Iowa.

Kevin earned his undergraduate and doctoral degrees from the University of Iowa, and has served on the faculty of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences since 1993.  He has chaired his department for the past five years, during which time health and human physiology has grown rapidly, tripling its faculty numbers and becoming one of the college's most-enrolled majors.  He serves on the steering committees for two faculty clusters under the Cluster Hire Initiative, the Aging Mind and Brain Initiative and the Obesity Research and Education Initiative.  Kevin has also been very active in leadership positions at the national level, and currently serves as chair of Science Policy Committees for the Federation of American Societies of Experimental Biology and the American Physiological Society.

Kevin has demonstrated good judgment, high energy, and excellent interpersonal skills in each of his leadership roles to date, and I am pleased that he will now contribute his many talents to this very important role in the Office of the Provost.

P. Barry Butler
Executive Vice President and Provost